Devices

Catalog specification sheet - Peripheral nerve

Regenerative Peripheral Nerve Interface (RPNI)

Physical interfacePhotograph
Close-up of the implanted RPNI bipolar electrode contacts, labeled positive and negative surfaces, beside a 5 mm scale bar.

RPNI bipolar implanted electrode, contact close-up. Positive and negative exposed surfaces are labeled; 5 mm source scale retained.

2022 RPNI bipolar-electrode study, P1 example: 30.5 cm lead; source reports P2 used 60 cm leads. Related electrode platform, not a photograph taken in the 2023 task study.

Scale: 5 mm source scale bar retained.

The source caption specifies 5 mm exposed contact surfaces with a 10 mm gap; the bent electrode is a perspective photograph, not a flat fabrication drawing.

Image credit & source

Vu et al., Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (2022), Fig. 2A inset; © American Society of Plastic Surgeons · Vu 2022 · Fig. 2A contact inset · Copyright © 2022 American Society of Plastic Surgeons; reserved-rights reference.

Photographic panel mechanically cropped from the source; resized and encoded as WebP. Source annotations and scale bars retained; no generative changes.

Photograph

Regenerative Peripheral Nerve Interface (RPNI)

Close-up of the implanted RPNI bipolar electrode contacts, labeled positive and negative surfaces, beside a 5 mm scale bar.

Open full-resolution image (405 × 275) →

RPNI bipolar implanted electrode, contact close-up. Positive and negative exposed surfaces are labeled; 5 mm source scale retained.

Scale: 5 mm source scale bar retained.

The source caption specifies 5 mm exposed contact surfaces with a 10 mm gap; the bent electrode is a perspective photograph, not a flat fabrication drawing.

Vu et al., Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (2022), Fig. 2A inset; © American Society of Plastic Surgeons · Source · Copyright © 2022 American Society of Plastic Surgeons; reserved-rights reference · Photographic panel mechanically cropped from the source; resized and encoded as WebP. Source annotations and scale bars retained; no generative changes.

Physical interfacePhotograph
The complete 30.5 cm RPNI bipolar electrode wire photographed before implantation, with the active contact surfaces identified.

Whole 30.5 cm bipolar electrode wire before implantation; contact positions are labeled.

2022 RPNI bipolar-electrode study, P1 example: 30.5 cm lead; source reports P2 used 60 cm leads. Related electrode platform, not a photograph taken in the 2023 task study.

Scale: 30.5 cm lead length printed in the source; no separate bar in this panel.

Curved lead routing before implantation; do not infer linear distances from the looped wire.

Image credit & source

Vu et al. (2022), Fig. 2A · Vu 2022 · Fig. 2A · Copyright © 2022 American Society of Plastic Surgeons; reserved-rights reference.

Photographic panel mechanically cropped from the source; resized and encoded as WebP. Source annotations and scale bars retained; no generative changes.

Photograph

Regenerative Peripheral Nerve Interface (RPNI)

The complete 30.5 cm RPNI bipolar electrode wire photographed before implantation, with the active contact surfaces identified.

Open full-resolution image (405 × 299) →

Whole 30.5 cm bipolar electrode wire before implantation; contact positions are labeled.

Scale: 30.5 cm lead length printed in the source; no separate bar in this panel.

Curved lead routing before implantation; do not infer linear distances from the looped wire.

Vu et al. (2022), Fig. 2A · Source · Copyright © 2022 American Society of Plastic Surgeons; reserved-rights reference · Photographic panel mechanically cropped from the source; resized and encoded as WebP. Source annotations and scale bars retained; no generative changes.

Physical interfacePhotograph
Bipolar electrode lead inserted into the median nerve RPNI muscle graft, outlined by a dashed yellow boundary; 0.5 cm scale bar visible.

Bipolar electrode placement within P1’s median-nerve RPNI; graft boundary marked in the source. 0.5 cm scale retained.

2022 RPNI bipolar-electrode study, P1 example: 30.5 cm lead; source reports P2 used 60 cm leads. Related electrode platform, not a photograph taken in the 2023 task study.

Scale: 0.5 cm source scale bar retained.

The electrodes lie within a reinnervated muscle graft; this is not a photograph of a TEENI hydrogel or a cuff around an intact nerve.

Image credit & source

Vu et al. (2022), Fig. 2B top · Vu 2022 · Fig. 2B · Copyright © 2022 American Society of Plastic Surgeons; reserved-rights reference.

Photographic panel mechanically cropped from the source; resized and encoded as WebP. Source annotations and scale bars retained; no generative changes.

Photograph

Regenerative Peripheral Nerve Interface (RPNI)

Bipolar electrode lead inserted into the median nerve RPNI muscle graft, outlined by a dashed yellow boundary; 0.5 cm scale bar visible.

Open full-resolution image (636 × 318) →

Bipolar electrode placement within P1’s median-nerve RPNI; graft boundary marked in the source. 0.5 cm scale retained.

Scale: 0.5 cm source scale bar retained.

The electrodes lie within a reinnervated muscle graft; this is not a photograph of a TEENI hydrogel or a cuff around an intact nerve.

Vu et al. (2022), Fig. 2B top · Source · Copyright © 2022 American Society of Plastic Surgeons; reserved-rights reference · Photographic panel mechanically cropped from the source; resized and encoded as WebP. Source annotations and scale bars retained; no generative changes.

Code
?3?
Reviewed
2026-02-06
Interface
pni
Evidence stage
human

Independent, source-linked catalog sheet. Not a manufacturer-issued datasheet, regulatory decision or instructions for clinical use. Human evidence does not establish approval. Source-specific restrictions, conflicts and missing specifications are retained below.

RPNI with implanted bipolar EMG electrodes (Vu 2023 configuration)

All rows follow the shared implant-device template. Measurements belong to the named study or configuration. A blank cell means the reviewed sources do not establish a value. Proposed architectures, optical behavior and validated electronic recording systems are kept separate.

Identity

FieldValue and source scope
DeviceRPNI muscle graft plus implanted bipolar EMG electrodes, Vu 2023 configuration. Not TEENI
ManufacturerUniversity of Michigan research system; electrode manufacturer not specified in reviewed 2023 Methods
Interface classRegenerative muscle-mediated peripheral interface
OriginUniversity of Michigan RPNI program
First demonstratedEarlier RPNI studies cited by Vu 2023; earliest demonstration not independently established here
First human implantNot dated by reviewed 2023 Methods; electrodes implanted one year after RPNI surgery in two participants
Species studiedTwo human participants with transradial amputations, Vu 2023
Regulatory statusUniversity of Michigan IRB HUM00124839 research approval; not general clinical device authorization
FunctionRecord muscle EMG to decode prosthetic movements; RPNI graft biologically amplifies efferent nerve signals
Target tissueReinnervated skeletal muscle grafts plus residual innervated muscles

Geometry and architecture

FieldValue and source scope
Interface typeIntramuscular bipolar recording electrodes in reinnervated muscle, not intrafascicular nerve electrodes
Array layoutP1: median and ulnar RPNIs plus six residual muscles; P2: median and two divided-ulnar RPNIs plus five residual muscles
Electrode countEight indwelling bipolar electrodes per participant, distributed between RPNIs and residual muscles. Not eight RPNIs
PitchNo fixed array pitch; grafts and muscle electrodes individually placed
Electrode lengths
Shank width and thickness
Tip and exposed site geometryBipolar intramuscular electrode; contact geometry not specified in reviewed 2023 Methods
Contact coating
Insulation
Insertion methodRPNI surgery for neuroma/phantom pain followed one year later by muscle electrode implantation
Anchoring and fixationIntramuscular implantation with percutaneous connectors; exact lead fixation not specified in reviewed 2023 Methods

Electrode and channel physics

FieldValue and source scope
Exposed site area
Electrode material
Impedance (with measurement frequency)
Noise floor or SNRRPNI SNR 15-250 across sessions. Median (IQR): P1 47.61 (103.89), P2 24.49 (18.53). RMS voluntary EMG divided by RMS resting noise, Vu 2023
Recording modalityEMG from RPNI and residual muscles, not direct neural spikes
Sampling rateNeuroPort acquisition 30 ksps; decoded after downsampling to 1 kSps, Vu 2023
Stimulation capabilityNot demonstrated by this motor-control recording study
Charge injection limitNot applicable to demonstrated recording task; stimulation limit not reported
Reference and groundBipolar electrode recordings; separate reference/ground details not given in reviewed 2023 Methods

Tissue interface and bioresponse

FieldValue and source scope
Target tissueMuscle grafts revascularized and reinnervated by transected nerves; electrodes in muscle
Insertion trauma and BBB disruptionBBB: not applicable. Peripheral surgery neurotizes free muscle graft and later implants muscle electrodes
Vascular disruption riskFree graft initially devascularized, then revascularizes; quantitative surgical complication rate not reported here
Micromotion sensitivityDay-to-day EMG variation observed; paper does not find substantial cluster centroid shifts across arm positions. Not a mechanical motion measurement
Gliosis and encapsulationPeripheral muscle interface; CNS gliosis not applicable. Electrode-muscle fibrosis not quantified in reviewed 2023 report
Neuron loss near sitesNot quantified; interface records muscle rather than placing contacts among CNS neurons
Foreign-body response mitigationBiological amplification avoids a direct nerve-contact recording interface; not proof that electrode-muscle foreign-body response is absent
Typical failure modesSession-to-session EMG amplitude variation and degraded nine-movement decoding without recalibration reported; hardware failure rates not reported

System architecture

FieldValue and source scope
Onboard electronicsImplanted electrodes wired to external acquisition; active implanted processor not reported
Data pathPercutaneous connectors to Blackrock NeuroPort; Matlab target xPC decodes movements
Telemetry bandwidthNot applicable to wired research configuration
Sampling rate30 ksps raw, 1 kSps decoder input; raw 3-7000 Hz filter, decoder 100-500 Hz filter
PowerExternal acquisition, computer and prosthesis; implant power draw not reported
Thermal management
Packaging and hermeticityPercutaneous research electrode system; hermetic lifetime qualification not reported
MRI compatibility
Surgical complexityRPNI muscle graft surgery followed by separate indwelling electrode surgery; graft number/targets differ between participants
Output connectorsPercutaneous connectors to external NeuroPort; exact connector part not reported in 2023 Methods

Performance envelope

FieldValue and source scope
Acute yieldPer-contact acute manufacturing/implant yield not reported
Chronic yieldRPNI SNR at least 15 across sampled sessions through 276 d (P1) and 1054 d (P2); not a contact-survival percentage
Stability over timeMonthly recordings interrupted by COVID-19 pauses. P2 four-grip performance above 94% across 604 d without recalibration; nine-movement offline performance often declined
Longevity1054 d post-electrode implantation signal observation in P2; not continuous acquisition or maximum service life
Revision and explant experience
Adverse eventsQuantitative adverse-event accounting not reported in reviewed 2023 Methods/Results; not evidence of zero complications
Notable demonstrationsP2 coffee-making sequence 99% accuracy over 611 d without decoder recalibration; uses RPNI plus residual-muscle channels

Clinical and preclinical evidence

FieldValue and source scope
Human subjectsTwo transradial-amputation participants: P1 two RPNIs; P2 three RPNIs
Preclinical cohortNot applicable to the audited 2023 human study
Follow-up durationSignal quality: 12 sessions over one year for P1, 27 over three years for P2; last signal recordings 276 and 1054 d after electrode implantation
IndicationsExperimental upper-limb prosthetic motor control; RPNI surgeries initially for neuroma and phantom pain
Trials and registriesIRB HUM00124839 given; trial registry identifier not reported in reviewed report
Primary outcomesEMG SNR, movement decoding, arm-position robustness and physical coffee-making task
Key limitationsSmall cohort; physical/prolonged decoder tasks in P2 only. Mixed RPNI/residual-muscle signals, not RPNI-only accuracy. TEENI is a different hydrogel-thread platform

Engineering tradeoffs

FieldValue and source scope
StrengthsLarge muscle-amplified signals and multi-year sampled signal follow-up
LimitationsGraft and electrode surgery, percutaneous leads, small cohort and session variability
Scaling constraintsMore independent graft/muscle channels require surgery and lead routing; nine-movement results do not inherit four-grip accuracy

References

Recorded interface · Human RPNI graft and residual-muscle recordings. These are muscle signals, not direct nerve-axon spikes. Gesture labels are cues, not decoder outputs.

Filtered intramuscular EMG

RPNI · graft & muscle activity

Measured data

Compare measured graft and residual-muscle signals during three cued phantom-hand gestures. These are the authors’ filtered 1 kHz EMG release, with channel identities retained.

Loading measured excerpt…