StairMed's second-generation 256-channel wireless BCI, launched in December 2025 and implanted from early 2026. Specifications are sparse and come from Chinese-language company disclosures and trade reporting.
Independent, source-linked catalog sheet. Not a manufacturer-issued datasheet, regulatory decision or instructions for clinical use. Human evidence does not establish approval. Source-specific restrictions, conflicts and missing specifications are retained below.
StairMed WRS02 256-channel wireless BCI
WRS02 is the successor to the 64-channel WRS01 described on the WRS sheet. Chinese-language sources give the channel count, launch date and a few company-reported performance figures. Nearly everything else is not reported, and the entries below say so.
Identity
Field
Value and source scope
Device
StairMed WRS02, second-generation 256-channel wireless implantable BCI system, upgraded from the 64-channel WRS01 [1, 2]
Invasive wireless BCI; the Chinese reports call it an upgrade of the high-throughput wireless invasive WRS01 [2]. Electrode details for WRS02 are not restated in the sources read
Origin
StairMed, with Huashan Hospital as the clinical partner of the earlier WRS01 trials [2]
First demonstrated
Launched at the 2025 BCI Conference in Shanghai on December 4, 2025 [1]. A trade report of company disclosures says the 256-channel WRS02 was implanted in early 2026 and its brain-control function verified [3]
First human implant
Early 2026 per a secondary trade report of company disclosures [3]. As of December 18, 2025 a STAR Market Daily report said the first prospective WRS02 clinical trial was planned soon [2]
Species studied
Human
Regulatory status
Investigational. The WRS01 system is in NMPA’s innovative-device special review since November 2025 [1, 3]; no source read states a separate regulatory status for WRS02. No market approval
Function
Records neural signals and decodes motor intent for cursor and device control; the company says it connects to more devices and offers smoother control than WRS01 [1]
Target tissue
Near the motor cortex per the trade report [3]
Geometry and architecture
Field
Value and source scope
Interface type
Ultra-flexible electrodes implanted through minimally invasive surgery near the motor cortex, with a wireless implant [3]
Array layout
Electrode count
256 channels [1, 2, 3]
Pitch
Electrode lengths
Shank width and thickness
Tip and exposed site geometry
Contact coating
Insulation
Insertion method
Minimally invasive surgery [3]; steps not reported
Anchoring and fixation
Electrode and channel physics
Field
Value and source scope
Exposed site area
Electrode material
Impedance (with measurement frequency)
Noise floor or SNR
Recording modality
Single-neuron signals collected with ultra-flexible electrodes, per the trade report [3]
Sampling rate
Stimulation capability
Charge injection limit
Reference and ground
Tissue interface and bioresponse
Field
Value and source scope
Target tissue
Insertion trauma and BBB disruption
Vascular disruption risk
Micromotion sensitivity
Gliosis and encapsulation
Neuron loss near sites
Foreign-body response mitigation
Typical failure modes
System architecture
Field
Value and source scope
Onboard electronics
Data path
Wireless implant; the system connects to Windows and iOS as input devices [3]
Telemetry bandwidth
Sampling rate
Power
Thermal management
Packaging and hermeticity
In May 2025 StairMed said the next-generation 256-channel system would be one third smaller than the then-current implant (26 mm diameter, under 6 mm thick); the sizes of the delivered WRS02 are not reported [4]
MRI compatibility
Surgical complexity
Output connectors
Performance envelope
Field
Value and source scope
Acute yield
Chronic yield
Company-disclosed information-transfer efficiency of 380 bits per minute, about 6.3 bits per second, and command latency under 50 ms [3]
Stability over time
Longevity
Patients operated a computer for 3 to 4 hours continuously, per the company [3]
Revision and explant experience
Adverse events
Notable demonstrations
Company disclosure reported in a trade article on July 30 to August 2, 2026: several patients with high spinal cord injury work full-time through the system, including e-commerce logistics coordination and data labeling [3]
Clinical and preclinical evidence
Field
Value and source scope
Human subjects
Number of WRS02 patients not stated in the sources read; the trade report says implanted in early 2026 and that several patients now use the system for work [3]
Preclinical cohort
Follow-up duration
Indications
Trials and registries
No WRS02 registry entry identified. StairMed’s WRS01 trials are on ClinicalTrials.gov, see the WRS sheet
Primary outcomes
Key limitations
Little published detail. Specifications and results are company disclosures relayed by a trade site, with no peer-reviewed or regulator-held data. WRS02 may or may not share the first generation’s electrodes; that is not stated
Engineering tradeoffs
Field
Value and source scope
Strengths
Four times the channel count of WRS01 in a planned smaller package, per the company [1, 4]
Limitations
No published hardware dimensions, no registry data and few patients reported
Scaling constraints
Version boundary
WRS02 is the 256-channel second generation. The WRS01 and the registered WRS64 are 64-channel first-generation devices. The 256-channel arrays in the Nature Communications intraoperative study are research arrays, not this implant.