Devices

Catalog specification sheet - Cortical surface

WIMAGINE (CEA-Clinatec) epidural wireless ECoG implant

Physical interfacePhotograph
Photograph of a WIMAGINE implant with its circular 64-contact electrode face and flat antenna extension.

WIMAGINE implant viewed from its cortical-contact side, held between gloved fingers.

Hardware from the catalog’s cited 2019 preclinical study.

Image credit & source

Sauter-Starace et al., Frontiers in Neuroscience (2019), Fig. 1A · Frontiers · Figure 1A · CC BY 4.0.

Photographic panel cropped from the original figure; resized and re-encoded. Original scale bars and annotations retained.

Photograph

WIMAGINE (CEA-Clinatec) epidural wireless ECoG implant

Photograph of a WIMAGINE implant with its circular 64-contact electrode face and flat antenna extension.

Open full-resolution image (1025 × 1000) →

WIMAGINE implant viewed from its cortical-contact side, held between gloved fingers.

Sauter-Starace et al., Frontiers in Neuroscience (2019), Fig. 1A · Source · CC BY 4.0 · Photographic panel cropped from the original figure; resized and re-encoded. Original scale bars and annotations retained.

Code
L3?
Reviewed
2026-02-06
Interface
ecog
Evidence stage
human

Independent, source-linked catalog sheet. Not a manufacturer-issued datasheet, regulatory decision or instructions for clinical use. Human evidence does not establish approval. Source-specific restrictions, conflicts and missing specifications are retained below.

WIMAGINE (CEA-Clinatec) epidural wireless ECoG implant

The tables use the same field framework as the other implant-device sheets. Values belong to the named study or configuration. A blank cell means the reviewed sources do not establish a value, not that the device lacks that property.

The Clinatec exoskeleton trial (NCT02550522) covers the registry record and the published exoskeleton results.

Identity

FieldValue and source scope
DeviceWIMAGINE
ManufacturerCEA-Clinatec, France; Sauter-Starace 2019 and 2015 development report
Interface classFully implanted wireless epidural ECoG recorder
OriginCEA development; primary design published before the reviewed 2019 sheep study
First demonstrated2013 device conference report cited by the development literature; not a first implantation date
First human implantJune 2017 and November 2019 for the two patients in the 2021 stability study
Species studiedSheep in 2019; humans in 2021
Regulatory statusResearch clinical protocol; conformity testing is not a claim of general market authorization
FunctionRecording for motor BCI
Target tissueEpidural surface above sensorimotor cortex

Geometry and architecture

FieldValue and source scope
Interface typeNon-penetrating epidural ECoG
Array layout64 electrodes fixed beneath titanium cranial housing, 2019 Methods
Electrode count64 recording electrodes per implant, 2019 Methods
Pitch4 mm lateral and 4.5 mm anteroposterior, 2019 Methods
Electrode lengthsNot applicable; surface contacts
Shank width and thicknessNot applicable; implant fits a 50 mm craniotomy with 90 mm upper-surface curvature, 2019 Methods
Tip and exposed site geometry2.3 mm diameter contacts, 2019 Methods
Contact coatingPlatinum-iridium 90/10 contact material, 2019 Methods
Insulation
Insertion method50 mm craniotomy; contacts above intact dura, implant replaces removed bone, 2019 Methods
Anchoring and fixationFour titanium wings protect against pressure or shocks, 2019 Methods; fixation details beyond these not reported

Electrode and channel physics

FieldValue and source scope
Exposed site area
Electrode materialPlatinum-iridium 90/10, 2019 Methods
Impedance (with measurement frequency)
Noise floor or SNR2015 development abstract: less than 0.7 µV RMS input-referred noise over 0.5-300 Hz; not a chronic in-vivo SNR
Recording modalityECoG population field potentials
Sampling rate976 Hz, 12-bit ADC in 2019 sheep protocol; contacts recorded in successive 16-contact phases
Stimulation capabilityRecording device; no therapeutic stimulation capability established
Charge injection limitNot applicable to the reviewed recording use
Reference and groundReference electrodes shown in 2019 Figure 9; electrical topology not reported in this audit

Tissue interface and bioresponse

FieldValue and source scope
Target tissueDura over sensorimotor cortex
Insertion trauma and BBB disruptionEpidural placement without cortical penetration; quantitative BBB disruption not reported
Vascular disruption risk
Micromotion sensitivity
Gliosis and encapsulation2019 sheep histology: increased GFAP reactivity in glia limitans and layer I under implant; do not describe as no gliosis
Neuron loss near sites
Foreign-body response mitigation
Typical failure modesGeneral failure rates not reported; 2021 measures signal stability, not lifetime reliability

System architecture

FieldValue and source scope
Onboard electronicsAmplification and digitization beneath titanium housing, 2019/2015 descriptions
Data pathWireless implant to external base station and laptop
Telemetry bandwidthAbout 250 kb/s in 2-FSK mode, 2019 sheep protocol; MICS band 402-405 MHz
Sampling rate976 Hz in 2019 sheep protocol; 16 contacts at a time
PowerRemote inductive power at 13.56 MHz, 2019 Methods; not a rechargeable implanted battery claim
Thermal management
Packaging and hermeticityHermetic titanium housing in 2015 development abstract
MRI compatibility
Surgical complexity50 mm cranial opening and epidural module placement, 2019 Methods
Output connectorsWireless base station to computer; no percutaneous electrode connector in described system

Performance envelope

FieldValue and source scope
Acute yield
Chronic yieldNo single yield percentage; two sheep retained relatively stable ECoG and SSEP over 10 months, 2019
Stability over time2021 two-patient study: limited decline in RMS, band power and SNR; effective bandwidth and spectral edge frequency stable
Longevity32 and 14 months observed in two patients, 2021; not a maximum service life
Revision and explant experiencePostmortem explant and histology in two sheep, 2019; human revision rate not reported
Adverse eventsHuman adverse-event rate not reported in reviewed stability abstract; no generic safety claim
Notable demonstrationsTask-related motor imagery discrimination maintained beyond two years in 2021 study

Clinical and preclinical evidence

FieldValue and source scope
Human subjectsTwo bilaterally implanted quadriplegic patients, 2021 stability study
Preclinical cohortTwo sheep, 2019 study
Follow-up duration
IndicationsMotor BCI for paralysis research
Trials and registriesNCT02550522 is retained as the linked protocol record; current recruitment status not asserted
Primary outcomesLongitudinal ECoG stability, effective bandwidth and evoked responses
Key limitationsSmall cohorts, species-specific skull/contact geometry, 16-contact phased acquisition in sheep protocol

Engineering tradeoffs

FieldValue and source scope
StrengthsWireless fully implanted epidural acquisition with chronic human signal evidence
LimitationsPopulation recording, not single-unit access; histological reaction still documented in sheep
Scaling constraintsWireless throughput, power and cranial footprint; no quantitative maximum channel count established beyond reviewed configuration

References

Recorded interface · Recorded with the WIMAGINE implant. Task annotations are instructions, not decoded movements; anatomical labels do not supply contact coordinates.

Filtered epidural ECoG

WIMAGINE · reaching activity

Measured data

Explore eight recorded channels during executed and imagined reaching instructions. The released ECoG is filtered to 1–250 Hz; amplitude is shown in source units because physical calibration is not established.

Loading measured excerpt…

Applications